New Day

The weather outside my window right now is not exactly what I had in mind as the ideal weekend weather. It’s dreary and cool. Since the heavy rain passed last night, most of what’s left has been mist. I can’t stand the misty weather. I say if it’s going to rain, let it rain. The weather the past few days has been rather lovely; too bad I had to spend them at work.

It’s been a rough week. Work is stressful. Home is stressful. I’ve become so overwhelmed by everything that is going on. “There’s no way I can get everything done! Why even try?” For the past few days, I have been consumed by a profound lack of energy and motivation. What else is new? I woke this morning feeling sore, stiff, and sleepy. As tired and weary as I was, I did not sleep well last night. I kept waking up and tossing and turning, unable to find a comfortable position.

After a visit to the doctor yesterday, we switched my medications from Lexapro to Cymbalta. Apparently Cymbalta works in about the same way as Lexapro, but is a little bit stronger and does a little bit more. I was also shocked to discover that is costs a lot more than the Lexapro. Even the generic was $50 for a 3-month supply. But if it truly helps me to climb further out of this pit I’ve been in, I’ll take it. The good news is that since the medication is similar to the one I was on previously, I won’t have any withdrawal symptoms. The withdrawal is what I’m truly dreading if and when I decide to drop the medication. Though the withdrawal from the Ativan will probably be worse.

Getting back to the main point…today is a new day. It’s the weekend. A three day weekend, at that, because my place of employment is closed for Columbus Day. As much as I really want to spend the weekend relaxing, recovering from a tough week, and preparing to be my very best for the week ahead (which is looking to be rather hectic), I am going to try my hardest to cross some things off of my to-do list. I would certainly be thrilled to be able to get a few things off of my mind.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.   Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matt. 11:28 &29

Leave a Reply

