Just Another Week

Another week has come and honestly it’s starting to feel like every week is “just another week.” It’s a bit worse now that my kid is in school. I love my kid, but I also love the quiet time and time to run errands without dragging a five-year-old by the arm.

This week involves more doctor’s appointments. We saw my husband’s cardiologist this morning, who gave him the ‘okay’ to go ahead with surgery as planned. This is good news. His heart is operating no more abnormally than someone with a transposed heart should. I had to swing by the hospital to pick up some Oral Contrast for my CT scan tomorrow. I am astounded that this stuff comes in flavors! Between berry, mocha, and vanilla, I went with mocha. I figured that was probably my safest bet, though after this I may never want to see another Starbucks Mocha Frappucino again (my wallet would certainly thank me.) It’s getting real; tomorrow at 1:00pm I’ll start sipping the chalky liquid and try not to gag for an hour and a half before I go in for my scan. I’m very nervous. I do not entirely know what to expect both from the scan itself or from the results, so please keep me in prayer.

I am beginning to feel weary. Both mentally and physically weary. I hate to sound so cliche right now, but honestly, when it rains, it really does pour.

“If that’s what it takes to praise you,
 Jesus bring the rain.”
– Bring the Rain by MercyMe

I am working on making the above my testimony. Sometimes it is hard to ask for God’s Will to be done, because we know we are not always going to like the outcome. As I wait for my phone to (hopefully) ring with someone telling me that I have a full-time job, it is hard to pray the prayer: “Father, let Your will be done.” Nobody said it was going to be easy. Nobody said we wouldn’t be disappointed every once in a while. I keep learning this more and more. Life has disappointments, but we have to learn to trust God and let Him take control, because He knows what is best for His people.

Leave a Reply

